Foundations

1 Corinthians 3:10-15
10 According to the grace of God which was given to me, like a wise master builder I laid a foundation, and another is building on it. But each man must be careful how he builds on it. 11 For no man can lay a foundation other than the one which is laid, which is Jesus Christ. 12 Now if any man builds on the foundation with gold, silver, precious stones, wood, hay, straw, 13 each man’s work will become evident; for the day will show it because it is to be revealed with fire, and the fire itself will test the quality of each man’s work. 14 If any man’s work which he has built on it remains, he will receive a reward. 15 If any man’s work is burned up, he will suffer loss; but he himself will be saved, yet so as through fire.”

There came a time in my life when everything I had been taught about the Bible and God seemed to be coming to pieces around me. I had questions. Questions about the Bible and God and what I’d believed all my life. Those questions terrified me, but they wouldn’t be ignored. The questions scared me at the time, but I have now learned that questions don’t scare God. He welcomes them. Questions are part of growing and learning, at least if asked while seeking Him. I  thought questions were the same as disbelief. That if I questioned anything I believed, I’d stop believing anything at all.

For a long time, I thought certain doctrines and deeds were my foundation. Among people who believed like I did, they were called THE Truth. In my own mind, they were called “the basics”… things that anyone who was REALLY saved must believe and must do. It took a long time for me to realize that Jesus is THE Truth. He is my foundation. All the things I’d been taught and told, all the external, extra-biblical things I believed were what was built on the foundation. They were not my foundation. And as I considered them and what they’d done, I realized I had this fantastic, million+ dollar foundation that I might have built a straw shack on.

I decided that I’d hold onto Jesus and if everything else fell, so be it; if everything else fell, it wouldn’t mean that I’d lost salvation but that  the foundation was ready to build something wonderful on. I don’t want a straw shack on a priceless foundation. A whole lot of things have fallen since then. I sweep the dust away and celebrate. There is still time in my life for Jesus to build, and what He’s been building is wonderful!

About thrugracealone

I'm a country girl raised city. I prefer open windows to AC, love a good thunderstorm, and enjoy hearing the owls and seeing lightning bugs. A bit old-fashioned, maybe, I can recognize many trees by name, resent elms and weeds, wish for a large garden and canning skills, and hope someday to downsize and get a few acres in the country. I am blessed with a terrific church, a good job, a sturdy house, two cats and a yard full of strawberries and mulberries in the right season. Some of my other favorite things to do are spoiling nieces and nephews, reading, swimming, biking, long walks, and blogging, of course. One of my favorite stories is creation. My abbreviated version goes like this: 1In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2Now the earth wasa formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters... And God moved... And God said... And it was very good. If God can speak to darkness, to an earth without form and void, and make something like this that we see everyday, and make it very good (and it was even better before the Fall!), He will surely make something wonderful out of the dark, void situations I sometimes find myself in. He has, and it's been very good. Two top posts: Can a Person Lose their Salvation? http://wp.me/p1CY5z-1R Baptism! http://wp.me/s1CY5z-baptism

Posted on July 22, 2011, in Christianity. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

