Losing a pet

This post will be off topic.

I have a very sick pet. A pet who is probably dying, though I don’t know that for sure. What I do know is that he’s lived a good, long life. He’s been happy, he’s been comfortable, he’s enjoyed the time he’s had… and he had more time with me than he would have had otherwise–his first owner was going to euthanize him 8 years ago.  He’s had his days of running outside, of rolling in the dirt (ugh!) and playing, many nights of laps and love, a warm, cozy bed, and someone to care for him. I’ve had a pet who ‘listened’, who kissed me and snuggled me and comforted me, who was concerned when I was sick and woke me when I almost caught the house on fire with a candle left burning. Someone who left footprints in my bathtub on rainy days and often sat in the middle of the street at rush hour… who was ready to fight a coon and begged for a taste of just about anything I ate. It’s been a good eight years.

The vet doesn’t know what’s wrong, and neither do I. I’m trying to encourage him to drink something, trying to make him comfortable, and praying for direction on what more to do. It’s been a difficult few days. It’s hard to say goodbye, so I think of and am thankful for the many good years, rather than  the few difficult days. Life is good and full of blessings, but from an earthly perspective, it’s much too short.

I have friends who’ve lost close family members. I’ve lost grandparents. But I’ve never been this close to death before. Still and always, with relatives and friends as well as pets, it’s good to cherish the fond memories rather than dwelling on the sadder times. Yet we can learn from the sadder times, and treat those who are still with us with more love and respect as a result. Death has a way of making one thing crystal clear: We are meant to cherish each other, while we have each other, for as long as we’re here.

Don’t wait to love someone.
Please don’t wait to laugh.
Enjoy time as it comes to you,
or you’ll never get it back.

Time is but an instant.
All our life is but a flash.
So treasure every moment,
And every friend you have.

*Update next morning: He began to drink a little again this morning on his own… so he’s still around for now and seems to be doing a little better. We’ll have another day, and maybe another… and just enjoy each moment.

About thrugracealone

I'm a country girl raised city. I prefer open windows to AC, love a good thunderstorm, and enjoy hearing the owls and seeing lightning bugs. A bit old-fashioned, maybe, I can recognize many trees by name, resent elms and weeds, wish for a large garden and canning skills, and hope someday to downsize and get a few acres in the country. I am blessed with a terrific church, a good job, a sturdy house, two cats and a yard full of strawberries and mulberries in the right season. Some of my other favorite things to do are spoiling nieces and nephews, reading, swimming, biking, long walks, and blogging, of course. One of my favorite stories is creation. My abbreviated version goes like this: 1In the beginning God created the heavens and the earth. 2Now the earth wasa formless and empty, darkness was over the surface of the deep, and the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters... And God moved... And God said... And it was very good. If God can speak to darkness, to an earth without form and void, and make something like this that we see everyday, and make it very good (and it was even better before the Fall!), He will surely make something wonderful out of the dark, void situations I sometimes find myself in. He has, and it's been very good. Two top posts: Can a Person Lose their Salvation? http://wp.me/p1CY5z-1R Baptism! http://wp.me/s1CY5z-baptism

Posted on August 30, 2011, in Meandering thoughts. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. A Living Christian

    I’m sorry. I know how tough that is. I hope that it works out ok for you, even though the outcome may not be desirable. *hug*

Leave a Reply

