God and Pianos

I had shared that I bought a used keyboard and all that meant to me: https://thrugracealone.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=802&action=edit

Yesterday that story got even better. I gave away a keyboard at Christmas. Last night I came home with a full digital piano… for free. It’s older but it’s fantastic, something I dreamed of owning for a very long time. As I practice, I’m relearning faster than I thought I would. And whereas the keyboard I’d given away at Christmas was a reminder of so many past wounds, now there is a piano sitting in my living room that is a reminder of all God’s provision and plans even in the midst of our pain… and of his love and grace even in the midst of our unbelief.

I have hesitated to use the word “grace” to describe all that’s happened. The word “grace” always seemed a bit nebulous to me. John Wesley stated that grace is “the undeserved, unmerited, and loving action of God in human existence through the ever-present Holy Spirit,” and Bishop Will Willimon describes grace as “the power of God working in you to give you a transformed life.” (umc.org)

Yes, grace. There’s no other way, actually, to describe or define any of this.

About Missouri Mary

I'm a country girl raised city. I prefer open windows to AC, love a good thunderstorm, and enjoy hearing the owls and seeing lightning bugs. There are around 70 species of plants in my yard. I have a good job, a sturdy house, and two cats. Some of my other favorite things to do are spoiling nieces and nephews, reading, swimming, biking, long walks, and blogging, of course.

Posted on March 18, 2023, in Christianity. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment